cities, towns, and villages. Power has also been brought to about 500 farm homes. The Commission operates 1,768 circuit miles of transmission line, serving close to 17,000 customers. As the system expands, the demand for hydro-service becomes more insistent. In 1939, the Commission spent \$557,000 on new construction, adding 212 miles of transmission line and 23 towns to the network.

Power is at present purchased from the Winnipeg Electric Company at a substation in Fort Garry, a suburb of Winnipeg. This is the source of power for the towns on the main network. Energy is also purchased from the municipally owned plant at Dauphin and distributed to Grandview and Gilbert Plains. The summer-resort area along Lake Winnipeg is served by the Commission with power purchased from the Winnipeg Electric Company at Selkirk, and the same company furnishes the source of power for East Selkirk, Seven Sisters Falls, and St. Boniface, from which points it is distributed by the Commission to outlying districts. In 1936, arrangements were completed for the export of a block of power to the Interstate Power Company at Neche, North Dakota.

The capital invested in the Province by the Commission is approximately \$6,000,000. At the close of the fiscal year 1938 the reserves, as represented by first-class securities, amounted to \$1,808,500. The Commission is in an excellent financial position.

The system is supervised and maintained by 35 District Supervisors, located throughout the territory served. Appliance showrooms are established at Brandon and Portage La Prairie, and the Commission enters actively into the appliance merchandising field. It also operates a central steam-heating system in Brandon, and a gas plant in the same city.

The results of sales and educational policies, together with the economies enforced, are demonstrated by the fact that, while consumption in the towns receiving service in 1933 has increased by 107 p.c., the cost to the consumer of this additional service has increased by only 52 p.c. The trend of the Commission's rates has been steadily downward.

Saskatchewan.—The Saskatchewan Power Commission was established in 1929 under the Power Commission Act (R.S.S., 1930, c. 30), authorizing the Commission to manufacture, sell, and supply electric energy, to acquire and develop water-power sites, to acquire or construct steam and oil plants, to construct transmission lines, to purchase power, and to enter into contracts with municipalities for the supply of energy. The Commission is also given certain control and regulatory powers re the operation of electrical public utilities, and is charged with the responsibility for the administration of the Electrical Inspection and Licensing Act, 1935 (1934-35, c. 64).

The initial operations of the Commission were concerned with acquiring, by purchase, municipally owned plants which were improved, enlarged, or supplemented by installations made by the Commission and were operated as individual systems of supply. Examples of such acquisitions made in 1929 were the Saskatoon, Humboldt, and Rosthern plants, while the plant at Shellbrook, the Wynyard-Elfros-Wadena and the Leader-Prelate-Sceptre systems, served from plants at Wynyard and Leader, were established by the Commission in the same year. In 1930 the municipal plants at North Battleford, Swift Current, Unity, and Lanigan, and the privately owned plant of the Maple Creek Light, Power and Milling Co. at Maple Creek were acquired, and in 1931 the generating plant at Willow Bunch was